Child pages
  • 2017-09-20
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Meeting Information

Date:

September 20, 2017

Time:

11 AM PDT/12 PM MDT/1 PM CDT/2 PM EDT/7 PM BST

Call in Number

USA 602-333-0021

Sweden- 0-8-51761894

UK- 0-20-34504161

Participant code

6765592

Please note: the conferencing service will ask you to enter the pound sign. Press # for pound.
To mute, press *6.

Agenda Items

  1. American College of Chest Physicians - Chad Jackson will discuss their  Laerdal simulator/xAPI tracking project
    • Abstract from this year's Medbiq conference [download presentation]
    • Chad Jackson, American College of Chest Physicians
    • Andy Hicken, Web Courseworks
    • The American College of Chest Physicians (CHEST) conducts simulation courses using high-fidelity Laerdal simulators. Evaluation of these learning experiences has traditionally been hampered by the simulators' lack of interoperability with other learning technologies. Using its Airway Management course, CHEST conducted a pilot project in which xAPI was used as a connector between their simulators' desktop reporting application, a learning record store (Learning Locker) set up to receive the data, and their Moodle-based learning management system.
    • This presentation will discuss (1) technical details of the implementation, including xAPI statements used and factors in the LRS selection, (2) educational benefits of the pilot, (3) technical lessons learned during the pilot, and (4) directions for future research and development.
  2. Discussion on tracking behaviors and allowing competencies or best-practices for learners to emerge from the data.
    • Behavior patterns may emerge from the data that will inform our understanding of the thought processes or behaviors of a high- or low-performer.
    • In online apps, behaviors can be tracked as clicks or nodes, but  in real-life situations, like clinical encounters, it may not be so easy. Question: In the real life medical education or medical activity of your choice how would you track significant behaviors? Not all of them would be part of the activity itself.  Is this something that is already tracked in some manner?  Is there anything you wish you could see that would help in assessment, that isn't currently tracked?
  3.  Brief Discussion of IMS Caliper
    • Caliper people reaching out to us for collaboration. No plans to collaborate due to licensing issues and the need to focus our efforts on the profiles we already have planned. There was a mention by one of the IMS people of a possible project that might make such collaboration less important: A conversion endpoint which would translate between the standards and send the result on to the LRS of choice. Not sure how well that would work since xAPI is a very flexible standard. This is only an idea, not at all a definite project at this time.


Decisions

Action Items

  • No labels